Onward & upward

So I found out sooner than I expected. Not longer after writing the last post, I checked my e-mail, and discovered that I’d received an e-mail from my prospective university, informing me that the decisions had been posted. Officially, they weren’t due till tomorrow. But, for whatever reason, I got my pleasant surprise a bit early. And when I read the official acceptance letter, I shrieked with joy. I jumped up. I pumped my fists. I ran downstairs and shared the joyous news with my grandmother. I felt like a little kid who’d just been handed a shiny new toy, or the offer of an exciting adventure.

Really, I am on an adventure. And though I know the next couple years (I will enter as a junior in the fall) will be full of challenges, I know in the end they will be worth it. Just as the last few years have been challenging, but they have also been worth it. I didn’t take calculus or human biology or public speaking because I wanted to. I took them because I wanted to get to this point. And now I have.

So I’m super excited. I thank God for giving me this opportunity. And I hope I will do well and accomplish the goal I originally set out to accomplish a few years ago.

I’ve still got a lot of unresolved issues in other areas of my life, but in this area at least, I know where I’m headed. And that gives me something to look forward to.

6 thoughts on “Onward & upward

  1. April! This is wonderful. It put a smile on my face to read this. I am very happy that you got into the university. I also love that the message of acceptance came early!
    Onward with the adventure πŸ™‚
    -Rachel

    • Thanks, Staci! I will be there for two years. Of possible interest to you is that I intend to minor in Portuguese. I’m super excited about that, and the possibility that I could spend next summer studying in Brazil.

      • No way! Right on. Where in Brazil. We’ll have to arrange to meet. Either you come and stay here with us, or I go there and see you. Let me know ok. And if you need any help, or have any questions, please feel totally free to ask ok. Wow, that is so exciting.
        πŸ™‚

  2. Yup! I’m pretty excited. πŸ™‚ The study abroad program is in Salvador. That’d be awesome if we could meet up. Are you anywhere near there? I know how big Brazil is, having traveled to different parts of the country, so it might not work if you’re in the south, but maybe we can figure something out. I’ll definitely keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

